Day 4 by Jessica

Bonswa! From Haiti!
I really cant believe how God opened the doors and provided for all that went into getting me connected to the Miriam Center and how God has provided over an abundance through my church and others in my community! I am so blessed to be here and thank God for giving me this chance to experience all that I have so far on this trip and more to come. Every day that goes by has been a huge growing experience and an eye opener to the poverty in this culture, not only to the poverty but also to the love that I already have for these people….It is absolutely amazing what Autumn and Stephanie have done this far in the Miriam Center. I thank God so much for the privilege of being able to help them this week. They are both truly amazing women of God.
Today we got to take the miriam center kids to the park for a little while to play, I wasn’t sure how this was going to work, as Im sitting in the bus holding a sweet little girl by the name of Minushe. She can’t walk and can only sit about one way, which was leaning against my right arm. I carried her onto the bus with such joy, you see this little girl was probably the happiest girl I have met so far, always smiling and laughing, she is so beautiful even with her crazy hair. 😀 I leaned down and asked her if she wanted to go to the beach and instantly she lit up like a light bulb and smiled at me…she was so excited to go and I got the privilege of being her one on one. In that same moment I asked her if she was ready and picked her up, she let out a giggle that just shattered my heart, she was so excited. Though we weren’t able to make it to the beach for some reason, the park was just as fun. But I’m not going to lie, I was a little concerned as to how this was going to work, but we walked down to the park, well slid down part of the hill…what she thought was the funniest thing in the world as my leg took the fall for the team! haha I carried her everywhere up the play place and down the slides…we swung on the swings, sat on the grown and talked to other kids and laughed a lot. Just watching everyone playing with kids who were similar to Minushe really broke my heart and reminded me of the verse that talks about us being the hands and feet of God. We as a team were literally doing this with these children. Though they couldn’t walk we were able to walk for them…we all had such a great time!
As a team we have been talking about purging ourselves of captivity and letting God’s glory shine in and through us, freeing us to a point of finding a peace in the presence of God and a contentment in leaning on him in all areas of our lives. This really couldn’t have come at a more perfect time and just shows another reason why I know this is where God wants me to be. I just thank Laura and Erin for choosing this study. Super cool! “=D
Today we also got to go on a home visit…I love love love doing these home visits. Haitians are the most friendly people and want you to come talk and spend times with them. One of my favorite times was yesterday when Erin, Laura and I went to one of their friends homes. She invited us to sit with her and had her son sing to us. We sat and talked with her for a while and then sang them Lord I need you. This is how open they are…Haitians also have the most beautiful voices. Today we went and visited a home of one of the little outreach girls Anania, and got to share John 9 with her grandfather and other siblings. Anania was in her little walker that we helped Autumn pass out the other night, it was so good to see her in her walker. I had such a fun time talking with them and it was the very first time I was able to talk to someone about God with a translator.
This week so far has been so filling and exciting!
A verse that keeps coming up this week is Ephesians 3:18-19 “…To grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”
I believe that in everything I see, I am just seeing a glimpse of God’s heart for special needs children, his love for people in this country and his love for you and me.
God Bless you.
Jessica

One thought on “Day 4 by Jessica

Leave a Reply

